Home >> About SRA >> Lake Fork Division

Basin Info. & News

Water Availability

Water Conservation

Water Quality

Lake Levels & River Conditions

Recreation & Parks

Economic Development

About the Authority


The Lake Fork Division is responsible for the Lake Fork Dam and Reservoir Project. The reservoir is located on Lake Fork Creek, a major tributary of the Sabine River, about 70 miles east of Dallas, Texas, and 5 miles west of Quitman, Texas. At the Reservoir's conservation pool level of 403 feet mean sea level (m.s.l.), the storage capacity is 675,819 acre-feet with a minimum firm yield of 168.4 million gallons per day. The Reservoir, owned and operated by the Sabine River Authority of Texas, inundates land in Wood, Rains, and Hopkins Counties, and was constructed primarily to provide water for municipal and industrial uses. The recreational potential of Lake Fork Reservoir will be enjoyed by thousands of water sports enthusiasts over the coming years. Fishing opportunities have been particularly good due to fishery management efforts of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department who began stocking the reservoir with Florida largemouth bass in 1978.

Contact Information

Lake Fork Division - Lake Fork Reservoir

353 PR 5183
Quitman, TX 75783
903-878-2416 Fax

Bill Kirby, bkirby@sratx.org
Division Manager
Conrad King, bcking@sratx.org
Assistant Division Manager
Jason Behrens, jbehrens@sratx.org
Project Inspector
Tommy A. Truitt, ttruitt@sratx.org
Registered Professional Land Surveyor
Jamie House, jhouse@sratx.org
M&O Supervisor
Clint Wright, cwright@sratx.org
Equipment Operator and Survey Assistant

See Also

This page requested on 10/10/2015 at 3:41:27 PM CST
Home | Privacy Policy
State of Texas Web Site Logo State Web SiteTRAIL Logo (Texas Records and information Locator Service) Statewide Search